Welcome to the Atrix Forum - Motorola Atrix Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tethering without root?

This is a discussion on Tethering without root? within the Atrix 3 HD Hacks forums, part of the Motorola Atrix 3 HD Forum category; +1 for foxfi also. Used it a few times to tether my tablet and it works great. The speed are slower though for me. I ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Tethering without root?

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Member #
    4011
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    3 times
    +1 for foxfi also. Used it a few times to tether my tablet and it works great. The speed are slower though for me. I can get 5dn/2up on my phone and only about 2dn/1up on the tablet when tethered. I've also tethered a laptop for about 10-15 min also. I'd say as long as you don't use it for long periods of time and keep your usage in check, you'll be alright. I also downloaded the add-on, but I'm not sure if it works automatically or if its something you have to manually set up for it to work.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Member #
    712
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    274
    Liked
    29 times
    You have to do it from the settings menu.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Member #
    1893
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    127
    Liked
    8 times
    I have something more devious in mind like keeping my nexus 7 connected all day all night lol.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Member #
    13703
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    2 times
    Has anyone used FoxFi successfully on the HD? It is not available in the Play Store for me (on US AT&T) though I got it installed from their website. It seems like it's able to create a hotspot, but when I try to connect to it (so far with my Blackberry 9000 or HP Touchpad) it reboots my Atrix HD! If anyone has been able to create a hotspot with FoxFi please let me know the results.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Member #
    712
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    274
    Liked
    29 times
    I just tried it and it rebooted as well.

    Interesting.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Member #
    14000
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    FoxFi wont work on atrix hd at least not on mine. But there is no need for it. If you go into settings, tethering/mobile hotspot and check it, youre good to go. check your data plan. tethering is now included for data pro 5 gig.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    21
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    not arizona
    Posts
    4,305
    Twitter
    @nakdea
    Liked
    765 times
    hello shumatert. welcome to the forum and thank you for the information.

    ^ nexus 5 .
    galaxy s 3 . optimus g . nexus 4 . atrix

    fin.


  8. #18
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    1002
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Posts
    18,231
    Liked
    2018 times
    Hi there shumatert! Welcome to the forum.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom






  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Member #
    712
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    274
    Liked
    29 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Shumatert View Post
    tethering is now included for data pro 5 gig.
    Not for grandfathered unlimited data customers, though.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Member #
    14000
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    sorry, forgot about the grandparents.


 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Paid tethering vs root tethering
    By stroja62 in forum Motorola Atrix General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2012, 12:26 AM
  2. [HOW TO] Tethering without ROOT.
    By Jeremy in forum Motorola Atrix Hacks
    Replies: 120
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 12:02 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 06:24 PM
  4. Atrix Swype keyboard (root or not to root?)
    By AndrewB in forum Motorola Atrix Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-03-2011, 10:39 AM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 04:11 PM

Search tags for this page

atrix hd foxfi
,
atrix hd hotspot hack
,

atrix hd tethering

,
atrix hd tethering hack
,
atrix tethering
,
atrix tethering without root
,
foxfi atrix hd
,
how to tether atrix hd
,

how to tether motorola atrix hd

,
motorola atrix 2 tethering
,

motorola atrix hd hotspot hack

,

motorola atrix hd tethering

,

motorola atrix hd tethering without root

,
motorola atrix hotspot hack
,
tethering atrix hd
Click on a term to search for related topics.