Welcome to the Atrix Forum - Motorola Atrix Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Permissions!?

This is a discussion on Permissions!? within the Motorola Atrix 2 forums, part of the Motorola Atrix 2 Forum category; OK.....I'm new to this smart phone thing and apps and all, but I'm one of those who thinks we all are being exposed way too ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Permissions!?

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Angry Permissions!?

OK.....I'm new to this smart phone thing and apps and all, but I'm one of those who thinks we all are being exposed way too much. I went on to the Market and started to download a weather app. I see this thing called "permissions". It reads like "they" will have access to my phone calls and those whom I call, data, emails, .......pretty much everything I do and wherever I go. Why do they think they need this or have a right to this just for me using their app? I thought that maybe that's the price you pay for a "free" app. No.....paid apps want the same info. Are there any apps that don't require all my info? Have you people read all the permissions? Doesn't it trouble you? Am I being paranoid? If so, why?

I'm about ready to take my new Atrix 2 back, pay the $30 restocking fee, and go back to my antique Razr...thingy..whatever it is.

Thanks.

Rescue Squad
    Member #
    Liked
    486 times
    If you root your phone, use an app called LBE Privacy Gaurd. You can choose which apps have which permissions....

If you need help, and I appear to be offline, shoot me a msg on Gtalk, or PM me and I'll respond as soon as I possibly can!!

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Twitter
    golfer_mfr
    Liked
    677 times