Welcome to the Atrix Forum - Motorola Atrix Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

"Background data" vs. "Data Roaming" vs. "Data enabled"

This is a discussion on "Background data" vs. "Data Roaming" vs. "Data enabled" within the Motorola Atrix FAQ forums, part of the Motorola Atrix Support Forum category; First question is if I'm travelling out of my network (e.g. have AT&T as carrier in US and travel in Europe), will unchecking "Data Roaming" ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Member #
    4173
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times

    "Background data" vs. "Data Roaming" vs. "Data enabled"

    First question is if I'm travelling out of my network (e.g. have AT&T as carrier in US and travel in Europe), will unchecking "Data Roaming" disable all data, or do I need to uncheck one or both other features?

    Could someone explain exactly what the other two options do and when they apply? Do they also apply to when using Wifi, for example?

    Is there documentation you could point me to that explains these options in detail?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    21
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    not arizona
    Posts
    4,305
    Twitter
    @nakdea
    Liked
    765 times
    Quote Originally Posted by moseley View Post
    First question is if I'm travelling out of my network (e.g. have AT&T as carrier in US and travel in Europe), will unchecking "Data Roaming" disable all data, or do I need to uncheck one or both other features?

    Could someone explain exactly what the other two options do and when they apply? Do they also apply to when using Wifi, for example?

    Is there documentation you could point me to that explains these options in detail?

    Thanks,
    I don't know the answer to your first question but I can help with the other one.

    Background data is the ability to surf and send/receive sms messages while on the phone.

    Data enabled turns on and off hspa/3g.

    I'm assuming data roaming kills them both since technically you won't be on att.




    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk

    ^ nexus 5 .
    galaxy s 3 . optimus g . nexus 4 . atrix

    fin.


  3. #3
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    2926
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    5,918
    Liked
    646 times
    Go to settins/data manager/data delivery and uncheck data roaming and data enabled. That should do it.

    Sent from my Atrix 4G using Tapatalk
    Last edited by RobKort; 07-04-2011 at 09:52 AM.
    Welcome to Android
    Atrix 4G Running CM9
    GNex Running JellyBelly JB 4.2 Custom
    Iconia A500 Running CM10
    Galaxy S3 Stock

    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help, I'll get back to you as soon as I can..

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Member #
    3931
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    506
    Liked
    76 times
    I downloaded a 'widget' pack for my lost phone it has toggle switches for most settings like WiFi, GPS etc. One of the switches is 'APN' and when i turn this off there is no data connection at all. Very handy to have on my home screen.
    Not sure if that helps or not, but it saves going through all the settings.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by daveyonthemove View Post
    I downloaded a 'widget' pack for my lost phone it has toggle switches for most settings like WiFi, GPS etc. One of the switches is 'APN' and when i turn this off there is no data connection at all. Very handy to have on my home screen.
    Not sure if that helps or not, but it saves going through all the settings.
    Yep, Elixir has that as well. It changes the APNs to be incorrect temporarily to disable data. Then, when you switch it back it removes the wrong characters and you're connected again.

    Sent via rooted Moto Atrix using Tapatalk

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Member #
    6336
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    Is there a way to allow GMail to sync and disable everything else from syncing? Is it possible to stop BLUR from syncing your social networks all the time or is the only way to remove all social networks from BLUR?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by HustlinDaily View Post
    Is there a way to allow GMail to sync and disable everything else from syncing? Is it possible to stop BLUR from syncing your social networks all the time or is the only way to remove all social networks from BLUR?
    Well, there's not really a quick and easy way for all at once, but you can do a few things.

    In Settings > Battery and data manager > Data delivery > Social applications you have the option to sync them over Wifi only.

    You can also go into each account or app and they should all have their own sync settings where you can either stop them of scale back their update frequency.

    Sent via 2.3.4 Rooted Moto Atrix using Tapatalk

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Member #
    6336
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    0 times
    Awesome, thanks. Yeah I have used 1.4GB in a week (had to switch to a 2GB plan to get this phone) and that is the only different usage over 3G for me (compared to my last Android device).

  9. #9
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Wow! That's a lot of social data in a week. There's probably something else eating it up as well, no?

    Sent via 2.3.4 Rooted Moto Atrix using Tapatalk

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Member #
    11282
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    data switch

    I just switched from a Samsung Captivate to Atrix 2 and was looking for the best way to have a shortcut to a switch to enable/disable data. I've found that it keeps data from being downloaded without my knowledge and saves on battery. But I can't seem to find a desktop shortcut to that switch or one on the market that allows me to access it with one click. Am I missing something easy here?
    Last edited by timbuk2; 03-06-2012 at 02:39 PM. Reason: forgot model


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-01-2012, 12:25 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2011, 01:59 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 06:35 PM
  4. Corp Sync "The server address should be correctly formatted"
    By BeeTee in forum Motorola Atrix Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 12:28 AM

Search tags for this page

atrix 2 4g turning off data

,

background data motorola mb860

,

background data on motorola atrix

,

background data roaming

,
data roaming setting motorola atrix
,

data roaming vs data enabled

,

disable background data on motorola atrix hd

,
how to set up background data on motorola atrix hd
,

how to turn on background data of motorola matrix hd

,
motorola matrix 2 data roaming
,
restrict background data when roaming
,
setting up background data on motorola atrix hd
,
tapatalk background data
,
turn off background data for moto g
,

what is background roaming

Click on a term to search for related topics.