Welcome to the Atrix Forum - Motorola Atrix Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

[HOW TO] Root the Atrix 4G(1) on a MAC - 2.3.4/2.3.6 OS Versions

This is a discussion on [HOW TO] Root the Atrix 4G(1) on a MAC - 2.3.4/2.3.6 OS Versions within the Motorola Atrix Hacks forums, part of the Motorola Atrix Development category; Yep all set now. Thanks for your help!...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: [HOW TO] Root the Atrix 4G(1) on a MAC - 2.3.4/2.3.6 OS Versions

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Member #
    11998
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Yep all set now. Thanks for your help!

  2. #12
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew View Post
    Yep all set now. Thanks for your help!
    Great! I'll add that note to the guide if others have issue with the Superuser install.

    Thanks!

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Member #
    12096
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    1 times
    Thanks das8nt so much for this tutorial. I'm a little new to the rooting process so I may be doing something incorrectly. The parts I'm getting stuck at are:

    ./mount -0 remount,rw /system

    Here it says
    mount: /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 already mounted or /system busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 is already mounted on /system

    So then when I type the following line
    cp /preinstall/su /system/bin

    It outputs
    cp: cannot create '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system

    Any thoughts?

  4. #14
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jdot104 View Post
    Thanks das8nt so much for this tutorial. I'm a little new to the rooting process so I may be doing something incorrectly. The parts I'm getting stuck at are:

    ./mount -0 remount,rw /system

    Here it says
    mount: /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 already mounted or /system busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 is already mounted on /system

    So then when I type the following line
    cp /preinstall/su /system/bin

    It outputs
    cp: cannot create '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system

    Any thoughts?
    I REALLY need to run this method on my phone so I know what feedback you get from each command.

    After the dosu command, are you getting a new prompt? You should be starting with $ and have a # after dosu. (I think; it's been so long since I rooted through the terminal)

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Member #
    11998
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    can you try typing "su" without the quotes?

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Member #
    12096
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    1 times
    Yes, it does change from $ to # after dosu.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jdot104 View Post
    Yes, it does change from $ to # after dosu.
    Hmm, interesting. You're getting temp root, but it's not letting you mount the system to write to it.

    Do you have any root file explorers like Root Explorer or Super Manager? If so, once you get #, then try to open the file Explorer and see if it will let you mount the folder /system/bin/ as r/w. If so, then try to switch back to the terminal and continue with the cp command and so on. Be sure to not close the terminal when you open the file manager, but instead use the task switcher with a long Home key press.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Member #
    12096
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by das8nt View Post
    Hmm, interesting. You're getting temp root, but it's not letting you mount the system to write to it.

    Do you have any root file explorers like Root Explorer or Super Manager? If so, once you get #, then try to open the file Explorer and see if it will let you mount the folder /system/bin/ as r/w. If so, then try to switch back to the terminal and continue with the cp command and so on. Be sure to not close the terminal when you open the file manager, but instead use the task switcher with a long Home key press.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
    So I've downloaded Super Manager, but it still won't let me mount /system/bin as rw. When I tap the icon to change the mode all of the read/write/exec boxes are already checked, but the folder only has an r (not rw) beside it. When I click OK, it says "Must select before CHMOD(NEED ROOTED AND BUSYBOX)." Should I try a different app or is there a different tactic to use?

  9. #19
    Super Moderator/RS
    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    11,157
    Twitter
    @das8nt
    Liked
    1281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jdot104 View Post
    So I've downloaded Super Manager, but it still won't let me mount /system/bin as rw. When I tap the icon to change the mode all of the read/write/exec boxes are already checked, but the folder only has an r (not rw) beside it. When I click OK, it says "Must select before CHMOD(NEED ROOTED AND BUSYBOX)." Should I try a different app or is there a different tactic to use?
    Hmm, it's been a while since I've used Super Manager.

    (This is all after you get the # in Terminal first, of course)

    I think you go to the File Manager, tap Menu and open settings. Enable the root option. (this is where it might or might not recognize the temp root), then back out to the file manager again, tap Menu and use the set the System as r/w option.

    It may not work, but I think I've gotten around a read only error like this before.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

    AtrixForums.com : My Anti-Drug : Above the iNfluence

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Member #
    12096
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by das8nt View Post
    Hmm, it's been a while since I've used Super Manager.

    (This is all after you get the # in Terminal first, of course)

    I think you go to the File Manager, tap Menu and open settings. Enable the root option. (this is where it might or might not recognize the temp root), then back out to the file manager again, tap Menu and use the set the System as r/w option.

    It may not work, but I think I've gotten around a read only error like this before.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
    I can get to that menu, but it's saying I can't enable the root option. I'm guessing it didn't recognize the temporary root lol. I tried using ES File Explorer too but got the same result.


 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [How-To] Root the Atrix 2 [ALL VERSIONS]
    By cogeary in forum Atrix 2 Hacks
    Replies: 126
    Last Post: 12-13-2014, 08:58 PM
  2. Replies: 738
    Last Post: 05-20-2014, 07:47 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 05:24 PM
  4. Replies: 43
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 08:03 PM
  5. Atrix Swype keyboard (root or not to root?)
    By AndrewB in forum Motorola Atrix Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-03-2011, 09:39 AM

Search tags for this page

apk root atrix 2.3.4
,
atrix 4g 2.3.4. root mac os x
,
atrix 4g read only file system
,
how to root atrix 4g
,
how to root atrix android 2.3.6 on mac
,

how to root motorola atrix on mac

,
mount -o remount rw
,

root atrix 2.3.6 mac

,
root atrix 4g 2.3.6 en mac
,

root atrix 4g 2.3.6 mac

,

root atrix 4g mac

,

root atrix mac

,

root atrix on mac

,
root motorola atrix 2.3.6 on mac
,
rooting gingerbread 2.3.4 with a mac
Click on a term to search for related topics.