Welcome to the Atrix Forum - Motorola Atrix Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Rooting My Atrix

This is a discussion on Rooting My Atrix within the Motorola Atrix Help forums, part of the Motorola Atrix Support Forum category; I'm looking for a good piece of software to root my phone. I've tried SuperOneClick; but it always says not responding. By sheer luck it's ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Rooting My Atrix

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Member #
    16755
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times

    Question Rooting My Atrix

    I'm looking for a good piece of software to root my phone. I've tried SuperOneClick; but it always says not responding. By sheer luck it's worked twice; but I've recently had to wipe my phone.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Thanks Hannibal

  2. #2
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    2926
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    5,918
    Liked
    646 times
    Condor97 likes this.
    Welcome to Android
    Atrix 4G Running CM9
    GNex Running JellyBelly JB 4.2 Custom
    Iconia A500 Running CM10
    Galaxy S3 Stock

    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help, I'll get back to you as soon as I can..

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Member #
    16755
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times

    Rooting My Atrix

    Thank you. I will try your suggestion.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Member #
    16755
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    I tried your suggestion and it didn't work. Does anyone have any other suggestions? Thanks Hannibal

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Member #
    864
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    QC, Canada
    Posts
    473
    Twitter
    stalematev6
    Liked
    109 times
    The method RobKort pointed to is the one I used successfully when I originally rooted my phone.

    What kind of error messages are you getting?

    Also, you mention you had to "wipe" your phone. Did you mean you just reset everything to factory defaults, or that you manually re-installed the stock (original) version of Android?

    The former means your phone is still rooted, the latter implies you,ll have to start the root process from scratch.
    _______________________________
    Canadian too
    ?
    Splash Screens and Wallpapers
    Android 4.4.2 Jelly Bean || Bell Mobility Samsung Note 3
    Epinter's CM 10.1 || Atrix 4G MB860



  6. #6
    Rescue Squad
    Member #
    2926
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    5,918
    Liked
    646 times
    There's is also no indication when you root the phone other than trying Titanium and see if it has root access. Also I can't quite remember if you have to install Super User after the fact.

    Tapped from my G2.....
    Welcome to Android
    Atrix 4G Running CM9
    GNex Running JellyBelly JB 4.2 Custom
    Iconia A500 Running CM10
    Galaxy S3 Stock

    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help, I'll get back to you as soon as I can..

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Member #
    864
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    QC, Canada
    Posts
    473
    Twitter
    stalematev6
    Liked
    109 times
    A trick I use to confirm if root access is "live" is to install Superuser, then a terminal emulator where I can test it out by using the "su" command.

    If the command prompt changes from $ to #, then it's working.
    _______________________________
    Canadian too
    ?
    Splash Screens and Wallpapers
    Android 4.4.2 Jelly Bean || Bell Mobility Samsung Note 3
    Epinter's CM 10.1 || Atrix 4G MB860



  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Member #
    16755
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    I'm using the following method, since none of the other methods worked for me: The "preinstall" Method
    The problem I'm having is that the phone does not automatically reboot, so I can't continue with the process. See step 3 of the instructions below: Instructions
    1. You may plug your phone in to the PC via USB no and leave it plugged in the entire time.
    2. Extract (you may need to download 7-Zip to extract the files from their .zip) the ADB-Fastboot package and root image to your C:\ Drive under a new folder titled “root” - You should now have everything in C:\root (Please see the picture at the bottom of the post that shows all files that are supposed to be in C:\root)
    3. Put your device into Fastboot mode: – Turn off your device. – Hold down the power button and downward volume button until you see “Fastboot” on your screen – Push the upward volume button to start Fastboot (if you're already plugged in it will auto-reboot,just hold Vol down as it starts to reboot.)
    4. Open your command prompt (Start >> run “cmd” >> enter)
    5. Type the following commands, hitting Enter after each line:

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    1002
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Posts
    18,231
    Liked
    2018 times
    Hannibal, excuse my intrusion but you DO HAVE an unlocked bootloader - right? That is a necessary prerequisite to rooting and installing a custom Tom.

    Sent from my GSM Note 2, using TapaTalk 2.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom






  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Member #
    16755
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by UltraDroid View Post
    Hannibal, excuse my intrusion but you DO HAVE an unlocked bootloader - right? That is a necessary prerequisite to rooting and installing a custom Tom.

    Sent from my GSM Note 2, using TapaTalk 2.
    The phone itself was unlocked when I bought it from a Chinese vendor. I still have the Superuser icon from the last time I rooted it. And I restored factory settings. Also, I reinstalled Barnacle WiFi Tether and it asked for Superuser access, I allowed it, and nothing seemed to go wrong, so maybe my phone is still rooted. As I said, I still have the Superuser icon. BTW, how do you tell if you have an unlocked bootloader?

    Thanks Hannibal

    PS., What does Titanium do?
    Last edited by coljohnhannibalsmith; 10-17-2013 at 04:44 PM.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Rooting Atrix 2.3.6 Bell on a Mac HELP!
    By tharrison8 in forum Motorola Atrix General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2012, 11:17 PM
  2. Need help rooting my atrix 2
    By Sicilian in forum Atrix 2 Hacks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 11:29 AM
  3. Questions about rooting Atrix
    By moseley in forum Motorola Atrix Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2011, 08:56 AM
  4. Atrix Woes: Swype; Rooting
    By KGlitz in forum Motorola Atrix Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2011, 09:45 PM
  5. Rooting ATRIX through super one click, need help.
    By giovanni v in forum Motorola Atrix Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:58 AM

Tags for this Thread